Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

BatchPatch Forums Home Forums BatchPatch Support Forum Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

• This topic has 9 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by doug.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    curwin
    Participant

I manage hundreds of computers, and BatchPatch works fine on almost all of them. However, I have two Windows Server 2003 computers (haven’t managed to get rid of them yet), for which whenever I run a BatchPatch command I get the following error:

Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

I am an admin on those machines, and I can remotely manage them in every other way I can think of – computer management, psexec, remote registry, administrative shares.

I don’t have this problem on other 2003 servers.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

David

jwiseguy
    Participant

Hello Curwin,

What happends if you run BatchPatch from the server what you want to update? Do you get the same Access is denied error?

curwin
    Participant

No, when I run BatchPatch from the problematic server it works properly.

doug

curwin – That is certainly peculiar. Thanks for trying jwiseguy’s suggestion. That does help narrow it down a bit. The next thing I would suggest trying is from the computer running BatchPatch to the target computer, what happens when you try to connect to the two following shares?

\targetcomputerc$program filesbatchpatch

\targetcomputeradmin$

Are you able to connect to the two shares? Are you able to create files in the two shares?

Thanks,

Doug

curwin
    Participant

Yes, I can connect to the shares and create files.

Is there something I can audit to see what is causing the access denied error?

doug

One other thing that I’d like you to check is just running PsExec at the command line against that target computer. What happens if you run:

psexec \targetcomputer IPCONFIG